Nasty C Debuts A New Single Upon Moving To Def Jam Records

“South Africa’s Star Rapper Nasty C (Nsikayesizwe David Junior Ngcobo) Signs with Def Jam Recordings”, writes Billboard. The multi-award-winning rapper entered what Billboard’s Gail Mitchell refers to as an “exclusive pact” with Def Jam Records, a Universal Music Group owned American record label focused predominantly on hip hop, pop, and urban music. The Def Jam roster enlists artists like Big Sean, Dave East, Fabulous, Jhene Aiko, Teyana Taylor, Justin Beiber, Kanye West, Nas and more.

The new signing follows Paul Rosenberg’s Def Jam Records resignation to launch Goliath Records, a new joint venture with Universal Music Group. Announcing the signing, the interim Def Jam Records Chairman/CEO Jeff Harleston said,

Nasty C is a unique and forward-thinking artist who is at the forefront of a new generation of rappers emerging from Africa. Def Jam is a globally recognized brand synonymous with excellence in hip-hop, and we are excited to welcome Nasty C — an international star with real vision and talent — into the family.

Jeff Harleston

The signing comes ahead of Nasty C’s foretold third studio album dubbed Zulu Man With Some Power. To kick-off the rolling out of the much-anticipated project and make his official US debut, Nasty C released the lead single, There They Go, premier­ed on Apple Music Beats1 with Ebro on Thursday, March 26 at 4:30 p.m. (ET). Produced by Cxdy, There They Go is issued together with the official music video directed by Andrew Sandler.

Check out the new song below and be sure to share your thoughts.

Be a plug!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *